I’ve never been one to eat at a sit down restaurant by myself. Actually, I’ve never done it. There’s two reasons I’ve never done this: 1) I think all eyes will be on me and 2) I fear what others think about a guy sitting all by himself at a restaurant. So I either just grab fast food, quickly eat by myself and leave. Or grab something to go and eat at home or hotel. It has always been easier that way.

On this trip to D.C., I’ve faced my fear and it feels good. On the trip up Sunday, I wanted breakfast for lunch. So I stopped at Cracker Barrel. I brought a book in with me and read at a table by myself. It was so freeing. I enjoyed it so much; I stopped for supper and did the same thing. It’s an awesome feeling knowing that something you feared was nothing to be afraid of. Most may think it’s a crazy fear, but one I was living with. But I’ve conquered this fear and will never be the same again.

In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day has really made a huge impact in my life. How many lions have I ran from instead of chasing them. All these missed opportunities because I was too afraid to face. Tonight (after dinner out at Olive Garden) I could feel the Holy Spirit impressing this on my heart: had I remained afraid, I would have eaten fast food all week. But since I faced my fear, I am able to enjoy better food and have sit-down service. How much more can I enjoy the Christian life if I face fears in that area of my life?!